Santa Fe, NM – Conservation Voters New Mexico (CVNM) and its political action committee CVNM Action Fund released the following statement following the 2014 general election in New Mexico.

“CVNM’s commitment to fighting for common-sense environmental safeguards that keep New Mexico’s families and communities healthy is unwavering. We strive to bring diverse voices to the table to find solutions to the issues facing New Mexico and we will continue to do this most critical of jobs. We would like to extend an invitation to each of the new representatives to discuss the conservation values of their districts,” said Victor Reyes, CVNM Political Director.

“There is no doubt that New Mexican voters support protection of our air, land and water for a healthy Land of Enchantment, and the actions of the House of Representatives should reflect that commitment,” said Demis Foster, CVNM Executive Director. “We will continue to hold legislators accountable to ensure that New Mexico’s decision-makers and public policies represent the deeply-rooted conservation values of our people.”

CVNM, via its political action committees, continues its efforts to build a strong political voice for air, land, and water by endorsing pro-conservation candidates who will work to protect New Mexico’s families and communities.

“We want to thank each of CVNM Action Fund’s endorsed candidates for their hard work this election. A special thanks to conservation incumbents Rep. Liz Thomson, Rep. Emily Kane and Rep. Phillip Archuleta. Each of them has made a lasting impact on the conversation about the health of New Mexico’s families and communities now and in the future,” said Reyes. “We look forward to what the future holds for each of them.”

Thanks to support from Conservation Voters across the state, CVNM Action Fund-endorsed conservation champions Rep. Stephanie Garcia Richard (HD 43), Rep. Miguel Garcia (HD 14), Rep. Christine Trujillo (HD 25), Rep. Georgene Louis (HD 26), Rep. Bill McCamley (HD 33) and Rep. Jeff Steinborn (HD 35) will continue representing their district’s conservation values in the legislature. CVNM Action Fund-endorsed conservation candidates Doreen Johnson (HD 5), Andrés Romero (HD 10) and Matthew McQueen will take the oath of office for the first time in 2015 and bring their unique districts’ values to the legislature.

CVNM is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization connecting the people of New Mexico to their political power to protect our air, land, and water for a healthy Land of Enchantment. CVNM does this by mobilizing voters, holding elected officials accountable, and advancing responsible public policies.

Contact: Liliana Castillo, 505.992.8683 or