Santa Fe, NM – Conservation Voters New Mexico (CVNM), via its coordinated political action committee CVNM Action Fund, continues its efforts to build a strong political voice for our environment by endorsing candidates who will work for the future of New Mexico’s air, land, water and communities. Today, CVNM has endorsed a slate of eight House candidates and two Public Regulation Commission candidates. These are in addition to our previous endorsements of Representative Michelle Lujan Grisham for Governor and Garrett VeneKlasen for Commissioner of Public Lands, for the June 5, 2018 primary election, with early voting beginning today.

“Conservation Voters New Mexico connects people to their political power to protect our air, water and land, and our endorsement process is a key step in that connection,” says Ben Shelton, CVNM Political and Legislative Director. “We are pleased to endorse a slate of strong candidates who will work with us toward our vision of an inclusive, environmentally just New Mexico.”

CVNM engages in a thorough endorsement process and endorses candidates based on their conservation records and responses to a questionnaire on topics including environmental justice, environmental health, quality of life, energy, water, land use, transportation, wildlife and wilderness.

CVNM’s endorsements for New Mexico’s primary election are as follows (detailed descriptions after the list):

Representative Michelle Lujan Grisham

Commissioner of Public Lands
Garrett VeneKlasen

New Mexico House of Representatives

House District 13: Rep. Patricia Roybal Caballero
House District 33: Micaela Cadena
House District 40: Paula Garcia
House District 41: Susan Herrera
House District 43: Pete Sheehey
House District 46: Andrea Romero
House District 52: Rep. Doreen Gallegos
House District 53: Willie A. Madrid

New Mexico Public Regulation Commission

District 4: Janene Yazzie
District 5: Steve Fischmann

House of Representatives candidates

HD 13: Rep. Patricia Roybal Caballero
Representative Patricia Roybal Caballero has a 100% lifetime score in CVNM’s Conservation Scorecardand is an outspoken champion for her community and conservation issues. In the House, she has sponsored measures important to her community such as the Community Solar Bill (HB 338) in 2017 and the Volkswagen Settlement Memorial (HJM 6) in 2018. She is a passionate and driven advocate. New Mexico needs more champions like her and the decision to endorse her in the primary is one we are proud to make.

HD 33: Micaela Cadena
Ms. Cadena is a young, progressive conservation candidate, similar to those we’ve endorsed in Dona Aña County such as Representatives Nathan Small and Angelica Rubio. She demonstrates a strong knowledge and facility with key conservation issues. Her experience in the Capitol as an advocate with Young Women United gives us confidence she’ll be able to hit the ground running. Other candidates in this primary also profiled well on our issues, but Ms. Cadena’s credentials and knowledge stood out.

HD 40: Paula Garcia
Ms. Garcia is the executive director of the New Mexico Acequia Association which gives her a unique perspective on conservation issues. The acequia tradition in New Mexico is one of bedrock conservation traditions that weaves through the state. Adding Ms. Garcia to the legislature will provide key expertise in water management and conservation.

HD 41: Susan Herrera
Not only has Ms. Herrera been paying attention to environmental issues in the legislature in recent years, but she understands the fundamental concerns driving CVNM’s legislative agenda. Her opponent, incumbent Representative Debbie Rodella has underperformed when voting on key conservation issues especially renewable energy development and oil and gas accountability, issues important in this district. Rep. Rodella’s score fell to 61% in CVNM’s 2017 Conservation Scorecard.

HD 43: Pete Sheehey
Mr. Sheehey is a retired physicist and Los Alamos County Commissioner. His support for renewable energy issues and his understanding of water management and conservation put him well ahead of the rest of the candidates in the race. His record as a Los Alamos County Commissioner indicates a thoughtful and progressive approach to conservation issues. He will be an able and educated replacement for the outgoing Rep. Stephanie Garcia Richard.

HD 46: Andrea Romero
Ms. Romero represents a new generation of potential for New Mexico lawmakers. Her background and expertise in conservation issues alone would make her a clear fit for our endorsement, but she also represents the next generation of conservation leadership as someone who is inextricably connected to her district’s environmental values.

HD 52: Rep. Doreen Gallegos
The last several years have seen Representative Doreen Gallegos come into her own as a conservation force in the State Capitol. Representing a district stretching from southern Dona Aña County down to Sunland Park, she’s responsible for representing an extremely diverse constituency and her facility at that task helped her rise to a leadership position as Democratic Majority Whip. Rep. Gallegos brings a history of understanding conservation issues in the State Capitol, combined with a strong recent voting history and a clearly stated desire to lead more on conservation issues.

HD 53: Willie A. Madrid
Mr. Madrid represents a strong choice for conservation voters, demonstrating clear values and commitment to conservation issues. He also represents the strongest opportunity to defeat Republican incumbent Representative Ricky Little, owner of a paltry 30% lifetime score on CVNM’s Conservation Scorecard. Mr. Madrid represents a clear opportunity to upgrade the performance of this seat.

Public Regulation Commission (PRC) candidates

PRC District 4: Janene Yazzie
Ms. Yazzie is a young, progressive, indigenous woman who wants to see the transition of New Mexico’s energy economy benefit her home area of Gallup. Professionally, she’s a sustainability policy consultant and indigenous activist. The next commissioner from this district will play a pivotal role in shaping the post-coal future for the communities around the San Juan Generating Station and Ms. Yazzie’s exceptional qualifications and fresh perspective equip her to do just that.

PRC District 5: Steve Fischmann
Mr. Fischmann is a former state legislator and familiar face before the PRC. Formerly, Mr. Fischmann served as a manager at Levi-Strauss and member of CVNM’s board. He has spent the last several years as a renewable energy and children’s advocate at the Capitol building. His understanding and facility with renewable energy issues and utility regulation will make him an immediate leader on the PRC and an able ally to 2016 CVNM Action Fund endorsee Commissioner Cynthia Hall. The PRC must play an important role in helping New Mexico transition to a bold clean renewable energy future and Mr. Fischmann demonstrates the vision and expertise to execute it.

CVNM does not endorse in uncontested races. The endorsements listed above are for the primary election only. General election endorsements will be announced at a later date. For more information on our endorsement process, please visit

CVNM is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization connecting the people of New Mexico to their political power to protect our air, land and water for a healthy Land of Enchantment. CVNM does this by mobilizing voters, helping candidates win elections, holding elected officials accountable and advancing responsible public policies.


200 W. De Vargas St, Ste. 1, Santa Fe, NM 87501 · 505.992.8683·